National Conference 2019

AACBT 40th National Conference
24-26 October 2019, The Playford, Adelaide, South Australia

Tickets on sale now!

Welcome to the official website for the 40th National Conference of the Australian Association for Cognitive and Behaviour Therapy (AACBT).

The conference being held from Thursday 24 October to Saturday 26 October 2019, at The Playford Hotel, Adelaide, SA.

AACBT has always celebrated advances in cognitive and behavioural therapies and evidence-based practice. We now find ourselves in a new era of clinical science, discipline diversity and comorbid mental health profiles. Our stimulating line up of keynote and invited speakers are innovators in research and clinical practice will present cutting edge ideas in this new generation of cognitive and behavioural therapy. The keynote & invited speakers, and workshop presenters will present exciting research advancements and novel, evidence-based approaches to the management of common and complex difficulties.

This year’s conference theme is “Honouring the Past | Envisioning the future”.

This year’s conference brings together a community of cognitive and behavioural therapy professionals to share knowledge, ideas and awareness of innovations and important issues in this field. AACBT is committed to delivering an exciting scientific and workshop program to inspire the CBT community to continue advancing the field.

We invite you to join us with the latest science, and evidence-based practice.

Key Deadlines

  • Registrations are open now!  AACBT Members have access to discounted prices
    • Attendees to WCBCT 2019 in Berlin will have a special discount for attending both conferences
    • Contact the conference secretariat for more details via email (
  • Accommodation Deadline: Friday 20 September 2019 (The Playford, Adelaide)
  • Standard Registration Deadline: Monday 30 September 2019
  • Abstract Submissions: Sunday 5 May 2019
  • Early Bird Registrations: Monday 26 August 2019

Where can I purchase tickets and learn more about the conference?

Registration information & ticket sales are here

Who are the confirmed speakers?

Bögels, Clark, Lack, Kavanagh, Martin, and Creamer – check out the Keynote & Invited speaker page

What is happening during the 2-day scientific program?

Check the Scientific Program page for information

Who are the presenters of the workshops on Saturday?

Check the Workshop Program page for information

Is there going to be opportunity for networking?

Yes – a welcome event for all scientific program delegates will be held on Thursday night, and the program has regular breaks throughout all days of conference

How do I submit an abstract for the scientific program?

Via our abstract portal

I have been accepted as a speaker for the conference – do you have any tips & guidelines?

This page will have all the information required once abstracts close

Where is the conference venue, and what is the accommodation like?

Accommodation is at The Playford (Adelaide) and you book direct with the venue.

Our rates are single: $200 (1 King) including breakfast, or twin share: $230 (1 King or 2 Queen) including breakfast.

How can I support AACBT and display my organisation to delegates?

Sponsorship Opportunities are available – please read our info pack and contact the conference secretariat

Is there anything interesting to do in Adelaide?

Yes, there are loads of things to do in Adelaide!

Is there anything for ECR to be involved with?

Yes!  We have upgraded the ECR lunch to be a session in the main program!

Check out the draft program on the scientific program page.

The AACBT National Conference Committee looks forward to welcoming you to Adelaide in October 2019.

Committee Members

Dr Danica Liu – Convenor 2019 (Adelaide)

Dr Helen Stallman – Scientific Convenor 2019 (Adelaide)

Professor Leanne Hides – National Conference Chair

Professor Amanda Baker – National President

Professor Ross Menzies – Editor Behaviour Change & WCBCT Representative

Ms Natasha Dean – National Tour Coordinator

Dr Kristen McCarter – Early Career Research Chair

Dr Janice Wong – Convenor 2020 (Perth)

Professor Peter McEvoy – Scientific Convenor 2020 (Perth)

Image Credits: supplied; The Playford; The Playford; South Australian Tourism Commission