Fellows of AACBT Ltd – Professor Leanne Hides

Professor Leanne Hides

BSc(Hons), PhD (ClinPsychol), FAACBT


Professor Leanne Hides was inducted as a Fellow of AACBT Ltd in 2021.

Professor Leanne Hides holds an NHMRC Senior Research Fellowship and the industry-supported Lives Lived Well Chair in Alcohol, Drugs and Mental Health at the University of Queensland. She is a senior clinical psychologist with almost 20 years of clinical and research experience in the treatment of primary and comorbid substance use disorders in young people.

Professor Hides co-leads the Federal Government funded grant for the National Centre for Youth Substance Use Research and led a major research program developing cutting-edge web and mobile-phone based programs for youth substance use. Most of this research is conducted in partnership with government and non-government organisations (e.g. QLD Health, Lives Lived Well, YMCA) to ensure research can be translated into practice. The six eTools developed as part of the eTools for Wellbeing project are available free online and 2 were listed in Buzzfeed’s 2015 top 11 mental health apps. She has been the lead investigator on 15 randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and a chief investigator on a further 11, with total grant income over $27.5 million (as at 2021).

At the time of writing, Professor Hides has over 180 publications, including 165 in peer-reviewed journals and 5 treatment and training manuals, and her work is well-cited in the literature. She has presented her work at over 150 research meetings, including international conferences, and has presented 13 keynotes/invited addresses. A major contribution to CBT is her significant role as research supervisor, having successfully supervised 16 honours, 10 Masters, 5 Clinical Doctorate, and 9 PhD candidates (as at 2021).

Professor Hides has held numerous, significant, and sustained roles with AACBT including:

  • Executive Member (Queensland): 1997 – 2003 
  • Vice President/Workshops Convener (Victoria): 2004 – 2005
  • Convenor AACBT National Conference 2005 (Melbourne)
  • President (Victoria): 2005 – April 2010
  • Convenor AACBT National Conference 2010 (Melbourne)
  • National President: May 2010 – 2014
  • Director, AACBT Board: 2012 – 2020, incl
    • National Conference Coordinator 2016-2020

Image: Supplied