Distinguished Career Award for Contribution to Cognitive or Behavioural Research and Therapy

The aim of this annual award is to recognise the exceptional contribution of an AACBT member whose career achievements have made an outstanding contribution to CBT, through research, teaching, and clinical innovation.

Distinguished Career Awardees
1995 Prof Jay Birnbrauer 2005 Prof Mark Creamer 2015 Prof Mark Dadds
1996 E/Prof Sydney Lovibond 2006 Prof Richard Bryant 2016 Prof Louise Sharpe
1997 2007 2017 Prof Matthew Sanders
1998 2008 2018 E/Prof Sue Spence
1999 Assoc Prof Neville King 2009 Prof Ron Rapee 2019 Prof Frank Deane
2000 Prof Alan Hudson 2010 2020 Prof Peter Norton
2001 2011 2021 Prof Peter McEvoy
2002 Prof Kim Halford 2012 Prof David Kavanagh 2022 Prof Ross G Menzies
2003 Prof Jeff Richards 2013 2023 Matthew Flinders Distinguished Prof Tracey Wade
2004 Prof Henry Jackson 2014 Prof Amanda Baker 2024
Nomination details
Download the nomination form below. Applications are due no later than SUNDAY 14 MAY 2023 (extended deadline).

Detailed selection criteria
  • Evidence of a substantial contribution to the advancement of CBT knowledge and/or practice in Australia throughout their career from achievements such as research grants, publications, supervision of research candidates, conference presentations/workshops, innovation & track record in clinical supervision, teaching & dissemination of knowledge and skills relating to CBT practice, innovative clinical and practice developments in CBT, leadership in CBT, contribution to policy and practice as related to CBT, contributions to AACBT, dedication to science, and other key achievements.
  • Preference may be given to an applicant who, in addition to meeting the selection criteria, has also made a significant contribution to AACBT.
  • The nominee will typically be in a senior position of leadership.
  • No award will be made if the quality of nominees is deemed by the AACBT selection committee not to meet the award criteria.
  • No more than one award will be made annually.
  • Individuals may apply or be nominated annually if the eligibility criteria are met.

    To be considered eligible for the award:
  • The nominee must have completed their PhD or Clinical Doctorate.
  • The nominee must be a current member of AACBT at the time of application.
  • You must not be a current member of the AACBT Board or National Conference committee.
  • The nominee may not by nominated by a member of the AACBT selection committee.
  • The nominee must not have won this award previously.
Conditions the award and related responsibilities
  • The successful awardee may be invited to present an invited paper, or clinical skills session (”Distinguished Career Award Address”) at the AACBT National Conference in the year of the award, alternately they may be asked to record a webinar or online presentation (60 min max) for distribution through the AACBT website. If the latter, the awardee will conduct a short (10 min max) in-person interview during National Conference, hosted by our National President and National Conference Coordinator / Chair.
  • It is a condition of the award that the successful nominee is presented with their award at the AACBT National Conference in the year of the award.
  • The award winner will receive a complimentary 2-day scientific program registration for the conference. All travel, meals, accommodation, etc. costs are the responsibility of the award winner.
  • The award winner will receive a complimentary ticket to the Fine Wine Dinner.
  • The award winner will be presented with a commemorative plaque.
  • Recipients can receive this award only once in their lifetime.
  • It is expected that the award winner will continue their involvement with the AACBT in the years following their award by attending or presenting at AACBT national or branch events, through paper submissions to Behaviour Change, participating in AACBT branch or national boards or committees, and/or mentoring of AACBT members.
Selection process
  • Individuals may self-nominate or be nominated.
  • Applications will be considered by the AACBT Awards Selection Committee.
  • The AACBT selection committee will further review the nominations and will provide a recommendation for the award, along with a summary of the short-listed nominees, to the AACBT Board of Directors who will make the final decision.